Nevertheless I am continually with thee

 

“So foolish was I, and ignorant: I was as a beast before thee. Nevertheless I am continually with thee: thou hast holden me by my right hand.” Psalms 73:22-23

How easy it is for me to be ignorant, to be proud, impatient, to forget how holy and powerful my Maker is and act like a grouch. But doing this I am acting impudently in God’s sight. How arrogant I am not to realise my foolishness and to confess my restricted time, service, and honour to God! And how humbly this writer Asaph was able to described his meagreness!

Charles Spurgeon explained that the word beast is the same Hebrew word used by Job translated as behemoth. So Asaph, through the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, was liking his sinful nature to the most brutish, intractable, and stubborn of all beasts. Spurgeon exclaimed,

“I think no man can go much lower than this in humble confession. This is a description of human nature, and of the old man in the renewed saint which is not to be excelled” (Treasury Of David).

“So foolish was I, and ignorant: I was as a beast before thee.” While this verse reveals the depth of our brutishness, the next verse shows the depth of God’s grace and the faith of the speaker: “Nevertheless I am continually with thee: thou hast holden me by my right hand.”

However many times I have grieved him, he never goes away. My Saviour loves me so much that He would rather suffer in my heart than leave me alone with my deficiency. Though I lose my hold on Him, He shall not lose His hold on me. Surprising Grace! The boundless love that God has towards me calls for my devotion to Him. O my soul, stand in awe, and reflect on the unfathomable grace that saved thee!

girl 2

copyright: julochka.com

“So foolish was I, and ignorant: I was as a beast before thee. Nevertheless I am continually with thee: thou hast holden me by my right hand.” Psalms 73:22-23

Leave a comment